Month 3

She’s only 2.5 months old and I’m already going crazy. As I’m getting ready to type this, James walks in the living room and says, “Why are you watching BabyTV if she’s asleep?” A valid question since, not only is the channel on, I’m actually watching it.  She’s been asleep for over half an hour and I’ve been watching TV the entire time. (Really, I should probably manage my time better…)

Anyway, she’s such an easy baby that I can’t even complain about anything this month. Except breastfeeding. And doctors. My milk supply was great a few weeks ago, but since Annabelle wasn’t gaining weight (which turned out to be because of her body type, not my milk) the doctor had me supplement. I should have listened to my LC when she said she didn’t understand that suggestion. All it did was ruin my supply and now I’m having the hardest time building it back up again. I’m eating tons of oatmeal, taking enough Fenugreek to smell like an IHOP, and drinking water night and day. She still gets 5-6 bottles a day though. GPs don’t know anything about babies. Besides that, everything is great. She’s growing like a weed and hitting all of her milestones. She found her hands a few weeks ago, and now she has figured out that she can control them. Mostly, she just puts them in her mouth, though.

Where's my dummy?!

Where’s my dummy?!

Smiles for Daddy

Smiles for Daddy

James’ camera isn’t great so these pictures are a bit blurry, but these were taken 2 days ago.

5 thoughts on “Month 3

  1. What a sweet little nugget. I can’t wait to meet her in a few months!! Oh, and I commend you, little sister, on sticking with breastfeeding. This is about the time that I threw in the towel. Supplementing and BFing were just too much for me. Keep going! Take a nursing vacation one Saturday or something, and drink more water than you think you can! Haha. I can’t stress the water intake enough. It is everything.

  2. I’m going to see my LC again tomorrow, but I really don’t think there is much more I can do about my supply. It is terrible and isn’t getting better.

  3. Hey Steph! I just wanted to leave my my two-cents on the milk supply… do you have a breast pump? If you do, try pumping after every feeding so then your boobs think she’s eating way more than she is and the supply will increase with the “demand.” Even if nothing is coming out at first, keep pumping for like ten minutes or so and it will really help with your supply. Even getting up in the middle of the night every three hours or so and pumping for a few minutes bc your body will think she’s hungry and eating and your supply will increase (along with the fenugreek and water…I am so bad at drinking lots of water so kudos to you!). There is also a tea called Mothers Milk tea that is supposed to help. I can’t find it here in stores but you might be able to get it over there or on the internet! Just remember that you CAN build up your supply so don’t give up!!

    • Thanks, Shannon! Yes, I do have a breast pump and I try to pump after she feeds but it ends up being about an hour after she eats because I have to get her settled before I can do it. I have an electric double pump and I try to pump for at least 5 minutes (usually more) at each feed but it doesn’t seem to be helping much, yet. :/

Leave a comment