Snow and Soap

So, it finally snowed in England this season! Rosie was born in December 2010, so she wouldn’t have been in the snow last Winter. We had so much fun! It stayed below freezing for at least a week afterwards, so the snow stuck around for awhile. We even got a couple of inches more the next weekend.

Rosie trying to find the snowball James just threw.

It took Rosie awhile to figure out that the snowball exploded when it hit the ground, but when she did, she decided it would be best to get it before you could throw it. So she attacked while you bent down to pick the snow up. Smart, really…..

I had the day off today, so I decided it was time to find a new hobby. Off I went to the Hobbycraft in Norwich to see what my options were. I thought about getting into crocheting again. My sister still does it a lot, and is even making things to sell in her Etsy shop (this shop), but I still haven’t finished the afghan I started on Labor Day in 2010. It isn’t that I’m no good at it, I just don’t have the patience I suppose. Anyways, what I ended up finding was soap. I couldn’t find any decent molds, so I had to actually buy a “soap making kit” that had a nice simple soap mold in it. I think I actually found something I may be somewhat good at! Mostly because it doesn’t take that long to do, and it is super easy. So here is a picture of the materials and the finished product!

Everything I needed

Finished Product! It's a little rough because I wasn't exactly sure what I was doing...

I messed it up a little bit because I didn’t put the flower petals in quickly enough and the top had started to dry, but I know better for next time now. So basically, I used the materials you see in the picture. I cut the soap base up and melted it. To melt, don’t just stick it in a pan; you have to use two pans. A bigger one, with some water in the bottom, and a smaller one to sit inside the big one. Make sure there is enough room around the small pan for steam to escape; don’t be stupid. It smells really good, but I honestly have no clue what the fragrance is supposed to be. Some sort of flower, I guess…

Ok, last but certainly not least (and the best part about this post), my beautiful baby Rosie is in heat again. This is only her second time (we aren’t “fixing” her), and we learned quite a bit from the first time, since neither of us had owned a bitch before. This time, to save our carpet/furniture, and to keep from having to follow her around with fabric cleaner, I got her this…

Diaper!

She keeps walking around looking at me like I made all the dogs in the playground laugh at her, and she walks like a kid who pooped his pants. I just love it. Does that make me cruel? Ah, whatever…

Modeling her new Diaper

Ok, that’s all from me for now 🙂 Happy Presidents’ Day!

2 thoughts on “Snow and Soap

Leave a comment